Gokusen

I liked Gokusen, because it was funny and it had MATSUJUN in it. BUT…

1. It got really repetitive by the end. Yankumi always had to go beat someone up and magically inspire them.

2. ARGHHHH my heart screams in pain because MatsuJun isn’t in the next season!

I really loved Sawada’s character and Yankumi. It was so cool at the end where the loser police guy goes…

“So I guess that makes the three of us rivals, then?”

*Shin pops up*

“Sorry, but… make that the four of us.”

…so cool. I kind of DIED when I figured out the second season was completely different. Thats one of the reasons I’m not watching Gokusen 2 and 3. The other reason is that I can’t believe they actually could squeeze 20 more episodes out of the same basic plotline… I mean, it was pretty funny, but even within the FIRST season it started to get too tiring and predictable.

Also, this is the first student/teacher drama I ever watched… so I hope it was the best, because I’m NOT watching any more. Maybe I should’ve watched GTO… but I HAD to watch Gokusen, it had MatsuJun in it, and he was a DELINQUENT! Plus the whole yakuza part was really good. Anyway, NO MORE student/teacher dramas. NEVER. How many freaking are there??? I can think of like 10 off the top of my head… Gokusen, GTO, Sensei wa Erai, Seito Shokun, Gakko ja Oshierarenai, Dragon Zakura, Scrap Teacher, The Queen’s Classrom, Gachi Baka, Taiyo to Umi no Kyoshitsu. HA. That was easy. And I didn’t even include Gokusen 2 & 3. Wow. So many… Well… actually I lied… I do plan on watching The Queen’s Classroom. It’s not at the top of my list, but I’ve heard lots of good things about it, and I like Shida Mirai.

ANYWAY. Yankumi is super cool with her hair down. But even that cannot make me watch the other Gokusen seasons. NOT EVEN KAME AND TEPPEI. Because honestly, it’s a total repeat of the first season. AND IT DOESNT HAVE THE BEST PEOPLE. Roar.

Oh my godddd its so unfair for Yukie and Jun to have such chemistry >< Im so angry.

I think Shin & Yankumi actually got together in the manga… that alone would make me read the manga. (I am a sucker. I accept it)

The whole cast is the best!

The whole cast is the best!

I’ve just been looking at the manga, and I think I would’ve been really angry at the drama if I read the manga first. The drama couldv’e been even better if it had been more like the manga. (actually the only reason I was looking for the manga is because I wanted to see the part where Shinkumi get together, but it looks pretty funny.) I couldn’t find the last chapter! I also couldn’t figure out when it was first released in Japan… but its been awhile. It’s kind of unbelievable that it hasn’t been released in the US yet since it obviously has such a huge following of online readers. As far as I can tell, the last chapter hasn’t even been scanlated yet. Shinkumi… ;_;

ARGH STUPID TV DRAMA WRITERS

4 Responses to Gokusen

  1. Rini says:

    To think that there is a manga for this… thanks for digging that up and sharing it with us! I agree the episodes got a littel repetitive, but I loved each episode to the fullest so, I had to watch Season 2 (thinking it was a continuation of the first season…). I was deeply disappointed that this wasn’t the case–No Sawada! D,: I really wanted to see Yankumi and Shin together and if they did in manga, I am so looking for it now. Thanks for writing up this article!

  2. jeanniex1 says:

    Glad to be of service 😀

  3. Rini, I was looking forward to the same thing and was really disappointed that Shin did not appear in Gokusen 2. Gokusen 3 is out (I have not seen it yet) and I think Shin is not in it either. I might not watch Gokusen 3 as it is quite repetitive.

  4. Belle says:

    I’m glad you picked up the manga afterwards. 🙂 I read the manga first and I was anticipating a good showing for the Gokusen drama. However, I also was bored by the repetitive episodic nature of the drama. I think the drama would’ve been better if they made better use of the Yakuza connection. I would assume as the heir to the Oedo clan, Yankumi would have some wealth or connections she could pull to help her out in some of the situations her students got into. I also have no idea how they keep making more Gokusen episodes when most of the cast is replaced every season.

Leave a Reply

