Ayashi no Ceres

Yes, I casually mentioned it in my last post, the anime that I picked up while waiting for Ryusei no Kizuna and Saiunkoku Monogatari. I have finished it! Ayashi no Ceres, known in America as Ceres: Celestial Legend.

Wow. Let me just say: awesome, awesome plot. A little bloody, but really good. (You know this is a biased opinion, right?)

I wondered for so long who these people were. But I wont spoil it.

I wondered for so long who these people were. But I won't spoil it.

My first impressions were: 90’s bright colors and drawing style + Toya’s awful tight cropped shirt = awfully entertaining. But I must admit I was kind of wrong. While I’m not really partial to this sort of drawing and animation style, it does get the job done. The job being to provide a vehicle for an extremely compelling plot. After I finished this I lay awake for 2 hours thinking about how scary it must be to have kids. Not necessarily because of the whole pregnancy thing, but because your whole life would just change so drastically. I mean, thats not really what you might think of when you watch Ceres, but it is really about reincarnation and reproduction.

Now the plot completely balances the 90’s-ness and the un-brilliant-ness of the heroine, Aya.

I was a bit confused by some things, so I looked into the manga a bit; and I probably should have just read the manga in the first place, because it’s the same wonderful plot without the icky colors and confusing parts. If I feel like it someday, I’ll remember to read Ayashi no Ceres. Yes, it’s by Yuu Watase. In my opinion, is she good? Alice 19th, yes, for the most part. Fushigi Yuugi and Imadoki, sort of. Absolute Boyfriend, sorry but no.

I recommend if you’re tired of the same old boring shoujo plots. I warn that there are some slightly freaky things, but it doesn’t have the mood of a horror anime at all. Or maybe I’m just immune. Mwahah.

Leave a Reply

