This is a kind of unnecessary update… Skip Beat! ep. 16 and gory mangas

Well… this is unnecessary in terms of actual updates… I have gotten absolutely nothing done the past week. No homework, no studying, no watching Saiunkoku Monogatari or Ryusei no Kizuna, no finding a winter 2009 drama to follow… I think I got over my whole re-watching stuff  thing, though. I watched the first 3 episodes of Hana Kimi (Taiwan), and read some old kids books. Comet in Moominland. Those books are the most adorable things on this side of the earth. They’re not stupid kids books, either, and they’re not sappy.

Snufkin is my favorite. He’s like my kids’ book idol. Lol. If you didn’t get to read the Moomin story when you were a kid, you sure are one deprived person. Of course most people don’t know about them because they kinda skipped over America and went from Scandinavia (where they originated) to Japan. Of course, Japan is like a magnet for cute stuff like this. I think they even made a TV show out of it there. Anyway, that’s what I’ve been doing. Oh wait. Yeah, I have been reading manga, too.

Mars:

I finished Mars! I liked it. XD So much so, in fact, that I decided to pick up Fuyumi Soryo’s other series…

ETERNAL SABBATH

It’s a psychological thriller. Eeks. But, I seem to be immune to this sort of thing now (its all part of growing up in the 21st century) and am enjoying it. There’re 8 volumes, I think I’ve gotten up to the 4th. Mmm, genetics. It all started with the Matrix. Now I’ve gotten into this sort of thing. Well, it’s freaky. That’s why I’ve been reading Moomin books at the same time. Those books are like a magical charm that blinds all the dark evil things with its light. Since I don’t read horror/psychological thriller type things much, its fun when I do. And I’m not sick of them yet. Really the only horror/gore/gross mangas I’ve read would be Blade of the Immortal (which I didn’t even finish, a friend happened to have like 7 volumes so I read them…) and Mermaid Saga which is this completely unknown Rumiko Takahashi series (remember her? Ranma 1/2? Inu Yasha? Sound familiar?) that I’m pretty sure I read at the DENTISTS office. Believe me, I have NO idea why it was there. It involved a little boy who was 800 years old and liked cutting peoples heads off. Scary as hell. But I liked it anyways.

Well, I’ll continue reading ES. Ah, Mars made me want a motorcycle! It’d be much better than a car (unless you don’t like getting wet and you like to relax a bit when you’re traveling). Plus gas would be cheaper. And it’d probably be easy to find parking. And it must be fun.

While I was looking at the above image of Eternal Sabbath’s first volume cover, I finally realized for the first time that it had been released in America! I was staring at the english on the cover, and I was like duhhhh… This must have been released in America! Brilliant, brilliant. I guess it doesn’t matter though. I was just surprised. People seem to like it on amazon.

OK, where was I. Ah yes, I was going to think of something to say about Skip Beat! episode 16… released a few days ago. But come to think of it I really don’t have anything to say. It’s not like I want to comment on the plot since I’ve already read the manga. Ummm… yay Ren is part of the plot again and there will be a new episode soon! is basically all I can think of. Speaking of Ren, they should really try to draw his hair better in the anime. It looks crappy. *blunt*

What elsee. Ah yes Winter 2009 Drama Season! I’m not excited. I watched a little of Mei-chan’s Butler (I suck and forgot how to say butler in Japanese) with Mizushima Hiro… I know him from Hana Kimi and something else I can’t quite remember… but I don’t know the female lead at all. Probably because I didn’t like her much anyways. Mmmmmmm what can I say other than it totally failed to capture my attention and I feel like I basically saw through the whole plot? I don’t really want to bash it so soon but >< Plot = fail. Characters = fail. *Drops*

I hadn’t really planned on anything else… But since its getting so much attention, I will add what worthlessness I have to say about Boys Over Flowers the KDRAMA version. How did it turn into Boys Over Flowers, anyways? Doesn’t it have a Korean name? Most people say Hana Yori Dango. Whatever. So no, I haven’t watched any of it. And yes, that means I’m not at all qualified to say anything against it or for it. But you know, I am such a thouroughbred Jdrama fan that I have trouble taking TWdramas (too cheap and cheesy) and Kdramas (too melodramatic and sappy) seriously. Anyway one look at F4 in their Korean costumes and hair and I burst out laughing. They look so nerdy! (In an endearing way. I’m not trying to get murdered by Kdrama fans) Bow ties and sweaters and button down shirts! Kyahaha. Hm. So that was amusing. I’m not making fun of it though, really. I just like Jdrama better.

C1 anime/Animanda has officially released 5 more episodes of Saiunkoku Monogatari (season II)! Now they’re on episode 33. The website says they’re going to stop releasing them so often now. D: tears… I was hoping for a quick release all the way up to the end so I could have a marathon… but it is not to be. I’m gonna have to make myself start watching it again soon to regain interest because this way I’ll never finish it. I will watch all the way up to the last 2 and then kill myself waiting for them. It seems like they will be releasing their version of 33-37 as well as those last 2 38-39 (end) eventually though, so I really can’t complain. In fact, I’m happy someone has decided to finish up the series for us poor English-only speaking types. It’s been, what, a year now since broadcasting ended?

Now that I’m in the right mood for picking up things I’ve stalled on (though mostly they were stalled due to unavailable [good] subtitled versions) I will go watch Ryusei no Kizuna episode 6~ and continue to not do my homework.

Leave a Reply

