Dog of Flanders + Old Pokemon tapes!

WARNING: Okay, this is very, very random; but please read it anyways. This is really unlikely, but if you happened to stumble across this and have recently seen or own a copy of the original AMERICAN release of Pokemon OR the Sailor Moon movies, PLEASE TELL ME.

Recently I was talking to someone, and for no real purpose, I mentioned Ranma in passing. As soon as the word left my mouth, they seemed to have a bit of an epiphany and went off about this trailer they’d seen years and years ago on an anime tape…
And so it began.

After lots of going back and forth and getting a description of this trailer; it started to ring a bell for me too… A trailer with a floating ship and a kidnapped girl that screams something that sounded like “Ranma!”

OMG! I thought, I remember that! What the hell was it? I was like 4 when I saw that trailer, and it was on like all the anime tapes I got my dad to rent for me! So I thought and thought, and as soon as I got home, I looked up the summaries for the Ranma movies. Sure enough, the premise of “Big Trouble in Nekonron, China” is that Akane ends up going away with some Prince in a flying boat and Ranma & Co have too save her.

I immediately pulled up youtube on a new tab and found that exact trailer quite easily… Someone ELSE had seen it on their old Pokemon tapes and uploaded it.

IT WAS SO NOSTALGIC. I never, ever saw that freaking movie, I don’t think I ever made the connection between it and the Ranma comic books I read as a kid! But I remember seeing that trailer whenever I watched Pokemon and thinking it was so weird… I must’ve seen that weird, English dub trailer a hundred times. I remembered every part, even the music, the narrator’s stupid American voice and the part where a weird lady lands on an elephant nose that doesn’t look like an elephant nose!

Anyway, all this made me super happy. Anything nostalgic gets me so excited. BUT THERES MORE.

The same person who reminded me about that Ranma trailer mentioned that there was another that they always saw… one with a little boy, a dog pulling a cart and a Flemish painter… and it vaguely came back to me. I had no idea what it could be, but I looked up “flemish painter dog anime” and the second hit on Google was for something called the “Dog of Flanders”. So I spent about 15 minutes looking up the plot and everything about this movie I’d never seen, but barely, barely remembered the English dub trailer for.

I don’t really want to watch the movie, I read the spoilers and it sounds like basically the most tragic G-rated anime possible. What I really wanted was to see that trailer again; the one I saw so many times as a kid. Unfortunately, according to youtube, “Furandasu no Inu 1997 anime trailer” and many many other combinations of keywords does not exist.

So if you know what I’m talking about; have seen the original American Pokemon releases; or have by some other means seen the “Dog of Flanders” American trailer, please let me know and tell me how I can watch it! I won’t sleep at night until I can see that trailer. Believe me, I get obsessive about these things.

If you actaully managed to come across this random, sad little post, you must have had a reason. I would be happy to hear it even if you can’t tell me where to get that trailer. I would be happy to have someone to share this misery with.
…………………….
K, that was about the most random, rambling, unnecessary post this blog has seen. (Well, there were all those posts dedicated to exactly what I was doing in order to procrastinate…). But I was just really happy to see that Ranma trailer, and it brought back nice memories, so I want to see the Dog of Flanders one, too. I may be being unreasonable, but it’s worth a shot, don’t you think?

2 Responses to Dog of Flanders + Old Pokemon tapes!

  1. […] Dog of Flanders + Old Pokemon tapes! « JDrama & My Exciting Life […]

  2. Hi, nice post. I have been wondering about this issue,so thanks for sharing. I’ll certainly be coming back to your blog.

Leave a Reply

