Hanasakeru Seishounen – Episode 2

daisy

Ahhh, Hanasakeru Seishonen… After watching the second episode, I just had to write a post on it. I was planning on writing a post after watching all the second episodes of the shows I’m following, but I just couldn’t wait.

Hanasakeru Seishounen is probably one of the biggest let-downs ever. For some reason I had some idea that this was going to turn out to be a really good shoujo/slight josei with lots of politics a la Saiunkoku Monogatari. The first episode proved me wrong, and the second episode proved me complete idiot and jerk.

The plot is complete ridiculous fluff. The characters are either attempting to be weird in the cool way yet failing (Kajika), trying to be cool (Li Ren and Mustafa guy) or completely one-dimensional (Toranosuke bodyguard guy). As ofr the animation, you can’t really always expect spectacular when it’s just a simple shoujo, but you should at least expect the use of technology from the current century. Awkward character design and badly drawn face shots and everything.

Sigh. So this is what it feels like for my expectations to be shot in the face.

Despite this rather harsh post, I think I might keep watching Hanasake just to entertain myself. And I won’t lie, I somehow seem to have maintained a tiny shred of hope for this series. Which will probably disappear with the 3rd episode, seeing as it looks like they’re going to introduce the “husband candidates” one episode at a time.

Bottom line: I’ll keep watching as long as it doesn’t get more horrible, but at this point I don’t think it’ll be able to retrieve itself any more than “mediocre”

Leave a Reply

