Emily of New Moon

Ah, May… the month that lets you know Spring is really truly here! I love this month. And I love… Emily of New Moon!

emily

How I ended up reading this is a strange story. See, I happened to run across and anime called ‘Kaze no Shoujo Emily’, which, indeed, turns out to be the anime version of Emily of New Moon. Having read a couple of the Anne of Green Gables books, I sort of recognized that title… so I became interested and planned on watching Kaze no Shoujo. But some days later I found myself in a used bookstore and lo and behold, there upon the shelf sat Emily of New Moon. So I bought it, spur of the moment. And you know what? I am so glad I did.

The Emily Trilogy, without a doubt, surpasses Anne of Green Gables. Contrary to Anne, which goes on and on for books and books, Emily is just the right length. I mean, yes, we all like Anne, but enough is enough sometimes, you know? I also thought Emily was a bit deeper as a character, a bit more flawed. This makes everything more interesting. So after finishing the first book, I ended up going back and getting Emily Climbs and Emily’s Quest. They didn’t disappoint.

I confess, I am a bit of a romantic at heart. I love these types of books, and I fully and happily admit that I’m a bit childish that way. Even though these L.M. Montgomery books seemed to be children’s books at first, they can be very thrilling and intense. The scene in the church at night from Emily Climbs, for instance; and especially the last half of the final book, Emily’s Quest. Wow. I was totally convinced that it was going to be a complete tragedy. The whole book was quite gripping, actually, despite the fact that a lot of it is spent on atmosphere and the monotony and loneliness of everyday life. But by the last couple chapters I had absolutely no idea what was going on and I kept thinking of possible plot twists and development. For about 10 seconds I was convinced that Emily and Teddy would turn out to have been fraternal twins, lol. I did think the ending was a bit sudden, but you know how it is with L. M. Montgomery.

Anyway, now that I’m a fan of the books, I think I probably won’t watch the anime.

One Response to Emily of New Moon

  1. Stela Waltz says:

    Hi!
    I see that you like a lot Rurouni Kenshin manga. me too and a few friends and me are trying to have a web page to talk about the fanfictions. It will be called Fanfiction Chronicles. The thing is if you can share one of the great picthre you have

Leave a Reply

