Toki wo Kakeru Shoujo

makoto

Ahh I love Netflix. Now I can still watch movies and anime in good quality even though my hard drive is so full I’m scared to download more. This movie, Toki wo Kakeru Shoujo was released in the US as The Girl Who Leapt Trough Time. And indeed, she leaps. Literally.

Here is a short summary: Makoto Konno one day discovers, as she flies off her malfunctioning bicycle in front of a speeding train, that she can leap through time. By taking a huge leap, she can fling herself backwards in time and relive and change moments in her life. After getting accustomed to using small time leaps as part of her everyday life; she starts to realize the negative impact they are beginning to take on the people around her and has to figure out a way to make things go back to how they were.

Okay, first off: I really enjoyed this movie. At first I thought it was a bit flawed, but when I kept thinking I decided it was perfect the way it is.

I had thought that it could’ve used some more character development and fleshing out for Chiaki and Kousuke (Makoto’s friends); but in the end I realized that would’ve messed things up. The whole point of this movie is that it’s centered completely around Makoto and what she chooses to do with her ability. At times it’s calm and at times it’s very frantic. The pacing and events of this movie are well thought out. The simple character designs also lend to the impact of the movie.

I really liked how un-dramatic the ending was, too. It was a bit of a twist that I hadn’t quite seen coming. The end made me sad because I’m used to American sappiness, but I really liked it. I watched it right after finishing Manon des Sources because I thought it would cheer me up after all the tragedy; but it kind of didn’t o.O

Overall I liked this movie a lot; I would recommend it and watch it again 😉

mako-to-chiaki

Leave a Reply

