An Amalgamation of Worthless Pieces

Right, well, this is going to be a crappy little moshed sort of post because I don’t have enough to say on each topic to make individual posts for all of them.

Higashi no Eden

We’re up to episode 9 (out of 11) now in this show which started out completely fabby and ultimately amazing but then failed to continue to be so. I really do like this. I love the characters for the most part; and I love the plot. But it’s just… NOTHING IS HAPPENING. Character development? NEIN. Plot development? A tiny dissapointingness little piece of it. It seems like they’re planning on just making this series a very, very long, time consuming commercial and teaser for the upcoming movie. What, I ask you, is the point?It’s sad, but I can’t give it a 10/10 anymore.

But secretly I do love it.

Natsu no Arashi

vlcsnap-168024-600x337

Mon dieu. Why is this anime so underrated? I truly want to know, and I don’t mean I want someone to write me an idiot comment bashing it; I mean I want a reasonable reason written by a reasonbale person of reason. I was bored one Sunday, so I watched the first 2 episodes online. I was intrigued. I think it’s really quite well done. The animation is good; in fact it’s just as consistent if not more so than the animation in Nodame Cantabile (which I’m also watching and which coincidentally got wayyyy more positive reviews). I am pleasantly pleased by all the little parody jokes; and even more so when I actually get them. For instance; one of the little scenes with Yayoi and Kanako, where it always goes something like (quoting from memory here):

“How are you this evening?”

“I am well, thank you”

“What have you been doing lately”

“I read a very interesting book”

“Well, what was the name of that book?”

“Ah, I seem to have forgotten the title”

“Will you tell me what it was about?”

“I’d be happy to. It was about one courageous swordsman who fights surrouded by faithful companions; together they battle for justic and love and through their faith they become victorious and win the companionship of others around them”

“My, what a wonderful and dazzling story”

“That courageous swordsman had something he would always say”

“What could it have been?”

“Hiten mitsurugi r-”

I was tres, tres pleased. Indeed, I find Natsu no Arashi generally pleasing and I sincerely wish to know why anyone would not.

Yotsubato!

Yotsuba01

Ah, Kiyohiko Azuma, creator of my beloved Azumanga Daioh. I think you are either an Azuma-type person or you are not. Some people just are not entertained by his humor and casual slice-of-life creations; while others can’t imagine not being entertained by them. There is no middle ground. At least there shouldn’t be. Anyway, this is comforting and lovely and perfect for summer.

You know, I’m going to have to take myself off blogging for a while, as I obviously can’t think of anything even slightly useful to say. Might possibly write that Twelve Kingdoms post soon if I ever feel like it, and one for Nodame Cantabile when I finish. Go enjoy summer, fools.

PS I suck and have gone back to stealing pictures.

One Response to An Amalgamation of Worthless Pieces

  1. mei says:

    yeah, someone else who enjoyed Natsu no Arashii. best convoluted reason to travel through time to prevent expiration of milk, i say. =P
    and strawberry bombs, haha

Leave a Reply

