Seirei no Moribito

Jesus, I’m really behind on posts now… perhaps today will be a day of endless posts? I also have to reorganize my categories, but I don’t know how I should do that… it’s complicated because I was lazy and a lot of my posts have paragraphs about 4 or 5 shows, making it extra confusing to find things. Bleh. If only I was forward-thinking. Ah well, it’s too late now. Moving on!

seirei

You know, looking back I realize that all my reviews are way too positive. But I don’t watch things unless I like them… so basically that means that I won’t post about it unless I’ve watched it, and I won’t have watched it unless I liked it so I don’t really have to waste time saying that I liked it. BUT I DID. Lol.

I’m always happy to watch anything akin to Juuni Kokuki and Saiunkoku Monogatari, as I’ve been a fan of the ancient fictional asian-ish kingdoms type stories ever since I read Noriko Ogiwara‘s Dragon Sword and Wind Child. Speaking of, I should do a post on that. Seirei no Moribito has joined the ranks! This makes a triumvirate. How exciting. And all three are based on novels… I wonder if that has anything to do with it…

You may notice that I don’t include Fushigi Yuugi, which seems to turn up around these 3 as well… but frankly, it’s just not as good. =P

Alright, before I get on with it, I have to make ONE more comparison. This may be a little far-fetched, but Michiko e Hatchin? Michiko is basically an extra bad-ass, extremely irresponsible, less wise Balsa. Couldn’t help noticing this as I watched.

Plot – You can just tell this was adapted from a novel. And well was it adapted. Is that right…? Whatever, it was a great adaption of a novel. The directors of the Harry Potter movies could learn from them. Speaking of, Harry Potter 6? It’s not like a had high expectations, but REALLY? More on that later. ANYWAYS. Ahem. The plot was detailed and well-paced, with a beginning that basically dragged you into it. I would say the most controversial would be the middle part. After Balsa escapes (temporarily…) from the Emperor’s assassins with Chagum, the prince, there’s a lull of very quiet slice-of-life-esque episodes about their daily life. Personally, I enjoyed these. But I think they lasted just long enough. If they had lasted longer, they would have started to seem like they were bordering on filler. But the atmosphere reminded me a lot of Saiunkoku at that point, which was nice. Soon enough the adventure picks up again, though. I feel like I’m not expressing this quite right… ahhh forget detailed reviews, the plot is good, okay? It’s good.

Characters – the characters are fleshed out exceedingly well. Again, like a novel in that aspect. It freaking IS a novel. Alright, now that I’ve made that clear enough… none of the characters, ACTUALLY NONE of the characters is even slightly one-sided. They are all very realistic, very human. There are no “bad guys”. Chagum really develops, and so does Shuga, surprisingly. Balsa doesn’t really need to develop, but the episode where she has a duel with her old enemy showcased her personality extremely well. And aww I love Tanda. I feel so bad for him. Poor dear Tanda.

Sound – The background music was very well manipulated; I didn’t LOVE the OP and ED, but they definitely weren’t intolerable or anything. Lol at L’arc en Ciel singing the OP. Balsa’s seiyuu had an awesome voice.

Animation – was consistently amazing. VERY well blended 3D, very realistic and flowy, very pleasant to watch.

Overall – Obviously recommend to Juuni Kokuki and Saiunkoku Monogatari fans. But I recommend this to anyone who really wants a novel-like experience in an anime. I mean, thinking about it, this is pretty rare. Download it while you can before it gets liscenced!

Balsa

Leave a Reply

