The Tragedy of Natsu no Arashi: Akinai-chuu!

I’m writing this as of episode 6, but if something changes in the next few episodes I will hastily stuff all my words back into my mouth and pretend this never happened.

GAHHHHHHHHHHH Shinbo I hate you SHAFT I hate you WHAT HAVE YOU DONE? Original manga author  Kobayashi Jin, is this YOUR fault?! What happened to my favorite summer show? What the hell made it so BORING? I’m putting my money on Shinbo, seeing how he couldn’t manage to maintain balance with Sayonara Zetsubou Sensei and turned it into a repetitive monotonous panty flashing fest after the first season.

If you haven’t figured it out yet, this is mainly going to be a bashing party, so leave now if it bothers you.

I actually really liked SZS season one. It was fresh and funny and unique. What Shinbo needs to learn is that it’s NOT fresh after three seasons and countless extra episodes. Same thing with Natsu no Arashi. When I heard there was going to be a second season, I was mainly just excited. But now that I think about it, isn’t that kind of surprising? I mean, all the characters had been introduced, and that was mainly what the show was about. Introducing new characters, traveling back to World War II to help them, having World War II touching moments in really surprising places. So… what did I think they were going to do? Just keep introducing more and more ghosts as the second season went on? Fill up Hakobune Cafe to the brim with em? Start a Ghost Convention? What, would they call it Summer Gho-Con?  Unless they were really bold and insane, the producers wouldn’t do that. So what the hell was the point of continuing production then, HUH?

The only thing left for this show is the Jun’s cross-dressing side plot and scenes at the Hakobune reminiscent of the widely hated first episode of season 1. While I was a little dismayed by the beginning of the second season, thinking it was ONLY going to be about Jun’s crossdressing, at least that’s a PLOT. And hey, I’ve been known to go for crossdressing shows. Hana Kimi Jdrama anyone? But this was just oppurtunities for fanservice. So they tuned down the fanservice after episode 3, but after you take THAT away, the only thing left is the Hakobune. And for some series, this type of set-up is fantastic. It’s subtle, with a little comedy and maybe some character development tossed in. But we all know that doesn’t sound like Natsu no Arashi.

Let me say here and now that I was actually one of the proud and few who didn’t think the very first episode of Natsu no Arashi was complete crap. It was entertaining. But the reason I ended up following and loving Natsu no Arashi was because that first episode was supplemented by some many other things. The interesting NOT YET OVER STYLIZED animation technique, the weird but cool concept, the slightly cheesy narration of Hajime, the nostalgic feel… ALL OF THAT. Zenbu. Now ruined by season 2.

Season 2 is just over done. It’s trying too hard to be cool, it’s monotonous, the bagkground music is really irritating and adds to the repetitive feel, the time-traveling is dumb and boring, the World War II element has been completely taken away, all the episode set-ups are exactly the same, the OP and ED are dull, the OP animation was interesting once, but now it’s monotonous like the rest of the show. It’s completely tasteless. WHAT THE FUCK. Shinbo has now screwed me over twice. This is the tragedy of Natsu no Arashi. Akinai-chuu.

Remember when it was like this?

And now it’s like this… although they don’t look that different, remember it’s whats inside that counts. And what’s inside Akinai-chuu is bull crap. Thanks, Shinbo. Thanks a lot.

Leave a Reply

